

# FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT OF KANE COUNTY

# FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE MINUTES

## I. Call to Order

The Forest Preserve District Finance and Administration Committee meeting was held Tuesday, October 23, 2018 at 2:00 PM at the Administration Offices located at 1996 S. Kirk Road, Suite 320, Geneva, IL 60134. The meeting was opened by Chairman Mark Davoust at 2:00 PM.

#### **Members Present:**

Attendee Name:	<u>Status:</u>
Commissioner Theresa Barreiro	Present
Chairman Mark Davoust	Present
Commissioner Rebecca Gillam	Present
Commissioner John Hoscheit	Absent
Commissioner Don Ishmael	Absent
President Michael Kenyon	Present
Commissioner Bill Lenert	Present
Secretary Philip Lewis	Absent
Commissioner John Martin	Absent
Commissioner Penny Wegman	Present

#### **Others Present:**

Commissioner Candidate: Chris Kouros

Monica Meyers, Executive Director, Ken J. Stanish, Chief Financial Officer, Ken Anderson, Jr., Chief of Planning, Ben Haberthur, Director of Natural Resources Management, John Goreth, Director of Operations, Tracey Smith, Director of HR, Jerry Hodge, Attorney, Caitlin Rodeghero, Administrative Specialist, Ellen J. Maglio, Recording Secretary

#### II. Approval of Minutes from October 2, 2018

RESULT:	ACCEPTED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER:	Theresa Barreiro, Commissioner
SECONDER:	Rebecca Gillam, Commissioner
AYES:	Theresa Barreiro, Mark Davoust, Rebecca Gillam, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Penny Wegman
ABSENT:	John Hoscheit, Don Ishmael, Philip Lewis, John Martin

#### III. Public Comment (Each speaker is limited to three minutes) None.

#### IV. New or Unfinished Business

A. Presentation and Approval of an Ordinance Of The Board Of Commissioners For The Forest Preserve District Of Kane County, Illinois For The Levy Of Taxes For The Fiscal Year Beginning July 1, 2019 And Ending June 30, 2020 For The: GENERAL FUND

<b>RESULT:</b>	APPROVED BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER:	Theresa Barreiro, Commissioner
SECONDER:	Rebecca Gillam, Commissioner
AYES:	Theresa Barreiro, Mark Davoust, Rebecca Gillam, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Penny Wegman
ABSENT:	John Hoscheit, Don Ishmael, Philip Lewis, John Martin

B. Presentation and Approval of an Ordinance Of The Board Of Commissioners For The Forest Preserve District Of Kane County, Illinois For The Levy Of Taxes For The Fiscal Year Beginning July 1, 2019 And Ending June 30, 2020 For The: ILLINOIS MUNICIPAL RETIREMENT FUND

RESULT:	APPROVED BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER:	Theresa Barreiro, Commissioner
SECONDER:	Rebecca Gillam, Commissioner
AYES:	Theresa Barreiro, Mark Davoust, Rebecca Gillam, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Penny Wegman
ABSENT:	John Hoscheit, Don Ishmael, Philip Lewis, John Martin

C. Presentation and Approval of an Ordinance Of The Board Of Commissioners For The Forest Preserve District Of Kane County, Illinois For The Levy Of Taxes For The Fiscal Year Beginning July 1, 2019 And Ending June 30, 2020 For The: CONSTRUCTION & DEVELOPMENT FUND

RESULT:	APPROVED BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER:	Theresa Barreiro, Commissioner
SECONDER:	Rebecca Gillam, Commissioner
AYES:	Theresa Barreiro, Mark Davoust, Rebecca Gillam, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Penny Wegman
ABSENT:	John Hoscheit, Don Ishmael, Philip Lewis, John Martin

D. Presentation and Approval of an Ordinance Of The Board Of Commissioners For The Forest Preserve District Of Kane County, Illinois For The Levy Of Taxes For The Fiscal Year Beginning July 1, 2019 And Ending June 30, 2020 For The: INSURANCE LIABILITY FUND

<b>RESULT:</b>	APPROVED BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER:	Theresa Barreiro, Commissioner
SECONDER:	Rebecca Gillam, Commissioner
AYES:	Theresa Barreiro, Mark Davoust, Rebecca Gillam, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Penny Wegman
ABSENT:	John Hoscheit, Don Ishmael, Philip Lewis, John Martin

## E. Presentation and Approval of an Ordinance Of The Board Of Commissioners For The Forest Preserve District Of Kane County, Illinois For The Levy Of Taxes For The Fiscal Year Beginning July 1, 2019 And Ending June 30, 2020 For The: SOCIAL SECURITY FUND

<b>RESULT:</b>	APPROVED BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER:	Theresa Barreiro, Commissioner
SECONDER:	Rebecca Gillam, Commissioner
AYES:	Theresa Barreiro, Mark Davoust, Rebecca Gillam, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Penny Wegman
ABSENT:	John Hoscheit, Don Ishmael, Philip Lewis, John Martin

### V. Closed Session to Discuss Land Acquisition, Contracts, Litigation and Personnel

	RESULT:	APPROVED BY ROLL CALL VOTE [UNANIMOUS]
1	MOVER:	Theresa Barreiro, Commissioner
9	ECONDER:	Rebecca Gillam, Commissioner
	AYES:	Theresa Barreiro, Mark Davoust, Rebecca Gillam, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Penny Wegman
	ABSENT:	John Hoscheit, Don Ishmael, Philip Lewis, John Martin

### VI. Communications

The Natural History of Illinois: 200 Years of Change When Illinois became a state, 200 years ago, the prairie stretched as far as the eye could see. Oak woodlands dotted the land, and wetlands teemed with life. Learn how these native landscapes have changed since statehood, in this presentation by Director of Natural Rescources Management Ben Haberthur. He will describe the ecological transformation of Illinois and explain why natural ecosystems are rare today. He will also discuss region-wide efforts to restore Illinois' splendid prairies, woodlands and wetlands. *Advance registration is required*. Call 630-444-3190 or e-mail programs@ kaneforest.com to register. Saturday, Nov. 3; 1 - 2:30 p.m. Barbara Belding Lodge Brewster Creek Forest Preserve 6N921 IL Rte. 25, St. Charles Fee: **\$10/person** 

Illinois History Hike Step back in time and see how the Illinois landscape has changed in 200 years. There will be a naturalist-guided walk through the prairie at LeRoy Oakes Forest Preserve, beginning at Creek Bend Nature Center, and ending at Durant House Museum. During the walk, you'll learn about the transformation of the prairies and woodlands from European settlement to today. At the Durant-Peterson House, docents will interpret 19th century life on the prairie. There will also be crafts back at the nature center, and self-guided Illinois

Bicentennial scavenger hunts throughout the afternoon. *Advance registration is required*. Call 630-444-3190 or email programs@kaneforest.com to register. Saturday, Nov. 3; 10:30 a.m. - 12 p.m. Creek Bend Nature Center LeRoy Oakes Forest Preserve 37W700 Dean St., St. Charles **FREE** 

Please RSVP for the Employee Recognition and Holiday Party to be held on Friday, December 7 from noon to 4 at the Grand Victoria Casino in Elgin.

**VII.** Chairman's Comments Thanks to all who attended the IAPD Gala. It was a nice event and recognized Commissioner Wojnicki and Mary O for their hard work.

#### VIII. Adjournment

<b>RESULT:</b>	ADJOURNED BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER:	Theresa Barreiro, Commissioner
SECONDER:	Rebecca Gillam, Commissioner
AYES:	Theresa Barreiro, Mark Davoust, Rebecca Gillam, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Penny Wegman
ABSENT:	John Hoscheit, Don Ishmael, Philip Lewis, John Martin

Mark Davoust, Chairman Forest Preserve District Finance and Administration Committee Forest Preserve District of Kane County

## Adjournment until: Tuesday, November 27, 2018 at 2:00 pm Forest Preserve District Administration Offices 1996 S. Kirk Road, Suite 320 Geneva, Illinois

Respectfully Submitted,

<u>Ellen J. Maglio</u>

Ellen J. Maglio Recording Secretary