

# FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT OF KANE COUNTY

# LAND ACQUISITION COMMITTEE MINUTES

#### I. Call to Order

The Land Acquisition Committee meeting was held Friday, February 23, 2018 at 8:30 AM at the Administration Offices located at 1996 S. Kirk Road, Suite 320, Geneva, IL 60134. The meeting was opened by Chairman Margaret Auger at 8:35 AM.

### **Members Present:**

Status:
Present
Absent
Present
Present
Present
Absent

#### **Others Present:**

Commissioners: Dahl, Gillam, Lewis, Sanchez.

Staff: Monica Meyers, Executive Director, Ken J. Stanish, Director of Finance, Ben Haberthur, Director of Natural Resources, Jerry Culp, Director of Planning and Development, John Goreth, Director of Operations, Mike Gilloffo, Director of Public Safety, Dave Petschke, Accounting Manager, Caitlin Rodeghero, Administrative Assistant, Jerry Hodge, Attorney, Ellen J. Maglio, Recording Secretary

## II. Approval of Minutes from January 25, 2018

RESULT: ACCEPTED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER: Drew Frasz, Commissioner
SECONDER: Bill Lenert, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, Drew Frasz, John Hoscheit, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Myrna Molina,

Angela C Thomas

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin, Thomas Smith, Barbara Wojnicki

# III. Public Comment (Each Speaker is limited to three minutes) None.

#### IV. New or Unfinished Business

# A. Resolution for Land Acquisition in Batavia Township 2 Acres

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

TO: FOREST PRESERVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 3/2/2018 8:30 AM

MOVER: Myrna Molina, Commissioner SECONDER: Bill Lenert, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, Drew Frasz, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Myrna Molina, Angela C Thomas

**ABSENT:** Mark Davoust, John Hoscheit, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

# B. Resolution for Land Acquisition in Plato Township 10 Acres

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

TO: FOREST PRESERVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 3/2/2018 8:30 AM

MOVER: Drew Frasz, Commissioner
SECONDER: Angela C Thomas, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, Drew Frasz, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Myrna Molina, Angela C Thomas

**ABSENT:** Mark Davoust, John Hoscheit, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

# C. Resolution for Land Acquisition in St. Charles Township 18 Acres

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

TO: FOREST PRESERVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 3/2/2018 8:30 AM

MOVER: Drew Frasz, Commissioner SECONDER: Myrna Molina, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, Drew Frasz, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Myrna Molina, Angela C Thomas

**ABSENT:** Mark Davoust, John Hoscheit, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

## D. Resolution for Land Acquisition in St. Charles Township 60 Acres

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

TO: FOREST PRESERVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 3/2/2018 8:30 AM

MOVER: Bill Lenert, Commissioner

**SECONDER:** Angela C Thomas, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, Drew Frasz, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Myrna Molina, Angela C Thomas

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, John Hoscheit, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

## E. Resolution for Land Acquisition in Sugar Grove Township 10 Acres

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

TO: FOREST PRESERVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 3/2/2018 8:30 AM

MOVER: Bill Lenert, Commissioner SECONDER: Drew Frasz, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, Drew Frasz, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Myrna Molina, Angela C Thomas

**ABSENT:** Mark Davoust, John Hoscheit, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

## V. Closed Session to Discuss Land Acquisition, Contracts, Litigation and Personnel

The Committee recessed into Closed Session to discuss Land Acquisition at 8:40 AM

RESULT: ROLL CALL VOTE [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER: Myrna Molina, Commissioner
SECONDER: John Hoscheit, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, Drew Frasz, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Myrna Molina, Angela C Thomas

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, John Hoscheit, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

## Closed Session to Discuss Land Acquisition, Contracts, Litigation and Personnel

The Committee recessed Closed Session at 8:50 AM.

RESULT: ROLL CALL VOTE [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER: Myrna Molina, Commissioner
SECONDER: Drew Frasz, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, Drew Frasz, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Myrna Molina, Angela C Thomas

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, John Hoscheit, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

## VI. Communications

Maple Sugaring Days will be March 3 and 4 at the LeRoy Oakes Forest Preserve from 1-4 pm. This is a family friendly event celebrating spring. The Naturalists will teach how to tap a maple tree, conduct hikes and sample some pure local syrup. This is a free event.

## VII. Chairman's Comments None.

## VIII. Adjournment

RESULT: ADJOURNED BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: Myrna Molina, Commissioner SECONDER: Bill Lenert, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, Drew Frasz, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Myrna Molina, Angela C Thomas

**ABSENT:** Mark Davoust, John Hoscheit, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

Margaret Auger, Chairman Land Acquisition Committee Forest Preserve District of Kane County

Adjournment until: \*Friday, March 23, 2018 at 8:30 am

Forest Preserve District Administration Offices 1996 S. Kirk Road, Suite 320 Geneva, Illinois

\* NOTE DAY CHANGE

Respectfully Submitted,

Ellen J. Maglio

Ellen J. Maglio

**Recording Secretary**