

# FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT OF KANE COUNTY LAND ACQUISITION COMMITTEE MINUTES

### I. Call to Order

The Land Acquisition Committee meeting was held Thursday August 24, 2017 at 8:30 AM at the Administration Offices located at 1996 S. Kirk Road, Suite 320, Geneva, IL 60134. The meeting was opened by Chairman Margaret Auger at 8:30 AM.

#### **Members Present:**

Attendee Name	Title	Status
Michael Kenyon	President	Present
Margaret Auger	Chairman	Present
Mark Davoust	President ProTem	Absent
John Hoscheit	Commissioner	Present
Kurt R. Kojzarek	Commissioner	Absent
Bill Lenert	Commissioner	Present
John Martin	Commissioner	Present
Myrna Molina	Commissioner	Absent
Douglas Scheflow	Commissioner	Absent
Thomas Smith	Commissioner	Present
Barbara Wojnicki	Commissioner	Present

### **Others Present:**

Other Commissioners present: Allan, Barriero, Dahl, Frasz, Gillam, and Lewis.

Staff present: Monica Meyers, Executive Director, Ben Haberthur, Director of Natural Resources, Jerry Culp, Director of Planning and Development, Laurie Metanchuk, Director of Community Affairs, John Goreth, Director of Operations, Mike Gilloffo, Director of Public Safety, Dave Petschke, Accounting Manager, Caitlin Rodeghero, Administrative Assistant, Jerry Hodge, Attorney, Ellen J. Maglio, Recording Secretary

# II. Approval of Minutes from July 27, 2017

RESULT: ACCEPTED BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: John Martin, Commissioner SECONDER: Bill Lenert, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, John Hoscheit, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, John Martin, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Kurt R. Kojzarek, Myrna Molina, Douglas Scheflow

# III. Public Comment (Each Speaker is limited to three minutes). None.

#### IV. New or Unfinished Business

# A. Presentation and Approval of a Change Order from WBK Engineering for Work on the CMAQ Grant for the Great Western Trail Extension Acquisition and Improvements

The project was presented to the Commission in February, 2017, providing the approval to apply for a CMAQ grant to assist with funding the project. Additionally, in February, 2017, the District hired Wills Burke Kelsey (WBK) as the engineer to complete the necessary documents for the grant.

After the application was submitted, staff and the engineers had our first meeting with IDOT to review the project and additional work needed resulted in a change order in the amount of \$18,383.48 to comply with the grant requirements. Our second meeting with IDOT and the Federal Highway Authority resulted in additional work because the project was on railroad right-of-way and the site characteristics are presenting challenges to installing the trail on the existing railroad bed. WBK submitted a change order for \$9,537.00 for the second change order.

WBK has submitted a change order request for the additional work needed in the amount of \$9,537. The original contract amount was for \$24,252.31, the first change order increased the engineering cost to \$42,635.79 and this second change order will increase the total Phase I engineering cost to \$52,172.79.

The project estimate is \$722,580. The grant will require the District to pay 20% of the cost of the project or approximately \$144,000. Funds totaling \$192,636 have been budgeted for this expense totaling \$9,537.

**DISCUSSION:** None.

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

TO: FOREST PRESERVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 9/8/2017 8:30 AM

MOVER: John Hoscheit, Commissioner SECONDER: Thomas Smith, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, John Hoscheit, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, John Martin, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Kurt R. Kojzarek, Myrna Molina, Douglas Scheflow

# V. Executive Session to Discuss Land Acquisition, Contracts, Litigation and Personnel

To enter into Executive Session to discuss land acquisition. 8:35 AM

RESULT: ROLL CALL VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: John Martin, Commissioner

SECONDER: Bill Lenert, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, John Hoscheit, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, John Martin, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

**ABSENT:** Mark Davoust, Kurt R. Kojzarek, Myrna Molina, Douglas Scheflow

Exited Executive Session at 9:38 AM, on a motion by Commissioner Lenert and seconded by Commissioner Smith.

# A. Approval to Purchase Property in Plato Township Adjacent to the Bowes Creek Woods Forest Preserve

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY VOICE VOTE

TO: FOREST PRESERVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 9/8/2017 8:30 AM

MOVER: Thomas Smith, Commissioner SECONDER: Bill Lenert, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, John Hoscheit, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, John Martin, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Kurt R. Kojzarek, Myrna Molina, Douglas Scheflow

# B. Approval to Purchase Property in Burlington Township Adjacent to the Cardinal Creek Forest Preserve

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY VOICE VOTE

TO: FOREST PRESERVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 9/8/2017 8:30 AM

MOVER: Thomas Smith, Commissioner SECONDER: Barbara Wojnicki, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, John Hoscheit, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, John Martin, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

**ABSENT:** Mark Davoust, Kurt R. Kojzarek, Myrna Molina, Douglas Scheflow

# C. Approval to Purchase Property in Plato Township Adjacent to the Muirhead Springs Forest Preserve

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY VOICE VOTE

TO: FOREST PRESERVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 9/8/2017 8:30 AM

MOVER: Barbara Wojnicki, Commissioner SECONDER: Thomas Smith, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, John Hoscheit, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, John Martin, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Kurt R. Kojzarek, Myrna Molina, Douglas Scheflow

### VI. Communications

Executive Director Meyers announced that the Cougars have made it to the Division Playoffs. Games are scheduled for September 10-13, depending on wins. Anyone interested should see Ellen for details and tickets.

# VII. Chairman's Comments None.

# VIII. Adjournment

RESULT: APPROVED WITH VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: Thomas Smith, Commissioner SECONDER: John Hoscheit, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, John Hoscheit, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, John Martin, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Kurt R. Kojzarek, Myrna Molina, Douglas Scheflow

Margaret Auger, Chairman Land Acquisition Committee Forest Preserve District of Kane County

Adjournment until: Thursday, September 28, 2017 at 8:30 am

Forest Preserve District Administration Offices 1996 S. Kirk Road, Suite 320 Geneva, Illinois

Respectfully Submitted,

Ellen J. Maglio

Ellen J. Maglio

**Recording Secretary**