

FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT OF KANE COUNTY LAND ACQUISITION COMMITTEE MINUTES

I. Call to Order

The Land Acquisition Committee meeting was held Thursday, July 27, 2017 at 8:30 AM at the Administration Offices located at 1996 S. Kirk Road, Suite 320, Geneva, IL 60134. The meeting was opened by Chairman Auger at 8:30 AM.

Members Present:

Attendee Name	Title	Status	Arrived
Michael Kenyon	President	Present	
Margaret Auger	Chairman	Present	
Mark Davoust	President ProTem	Absent	
John Hoscheit	Commissioner	Present	
Kurt R. Kojzarek	Commissioner	Present	Late
Bill Lenert	Commissioner	Absent	
John Martin	Commissioner	Present	
Myrna Molina	Commissioner	Present	Late
Douglas Scheflow	Commissioner	Absent	
Thomas Smith	Commissioner	Present	
Barbara Wojnicki	Commissioner	Present	

Others Present: Commissioners Barriero and Frasz. Also present were Monica Meyers, Executive Director; Ken Stanish, Director of Finance; Jerry Culp, Director of Planning and Development; John Goreth, Director of Operations and Maintenance; Caitlin Rodeghero, Administrative Assistant; Anna Marano, Buyer; and Ellen J. Maglio, Recording Secretary

II. Approval of Minutes from June 29, 2017

RESULT: APPROVED BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: Barbara Wojnicki, Commissioner SECONDER: Thomas Smith, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, John Hoscheit, Michael Kenyon, John Martin, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Kurt R. Kojzarek, Bill Lenert, Myrna Molina, Douglas Scheflow

III. Public Comment (Each Speaker is limited to three minutes) None.

IV. New or Unfinished Business

A. Presentation and Approval of the Executive Session Minutes from February 2007 through June 2017

RESULT: APPROVED BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: John Hoscheit, Commissioner SECONDER: John Martin, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, John Hoscheit, Michael Kenyon, John Martin, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Kurt R. Kojzarek, Bill Lenert, Myrna Molina, Douglas Scheflow

B. Approval to Purchase the Cutsinger Property as an Addition to the Sauer Family Prairie Kame Forest Preserve

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

TO: FOREST PRESERVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 8/4/2017 8:30 AM

MOVER: Kurt R. Kojzarek, Commissioner SECONDER: John Hoscheit, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, John Hoscheit, Michael Kenyon, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin,

Myrna Molina, Thomas Smith, Barbara Wojnicki

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Bill Lenert, Douglas Scheflow

C. Approval to Purchase the Imhoff Property as a Ferson Creek Greenway Addition

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

TO: FOREST PRESERVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 8/4/2017 8:30 AM

MOVER: Barbara Wojnicki, Commissioner SECONDER: Kurt R. Kojzarek, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, John Hoscheit, Michael Kenyon, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin,

Myrna Molina, Thomas Smith, Barbara Wojnicki

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Bill Lenert, Douglas Scheflow

D. Approval to Purchase the Kelly Property a Ferson Creek Greenway Addition

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]
TO: LAND ACQUISITION COMMITTEE 8/4/2017 8:30 AM

MOVER: Kurt R. Kojzarek, Commissioner SECONDER: John Hoscheit, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, John Hoscheit, Michael Kenyon, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin,

Myrna Molina, Thomas Smith, Barbara Wojnicki

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Bill Lenert, Douglas Scheflow

E. Approval to Purchase the Deihs Property an Addition to the Otter Creek Forest Preserve

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]
TO: LAND ACQUISITION COMMITTEE 8/4/2017 8:30 AM

MOVER: Barbara Wojnicki, Commissioner SECONDER: Kurt R. Kojzarek, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, John Hoscheit, Michael Kenyon, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin,

Myrna Molina, Thomas Smith, Barbara Wojnicki

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Bill Lenert, Douglas Scheflow

F. Approval to Purchase the Faber Property as an Addition to the Cardinal Creek Forest Preserve

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

TO: FOREST PRESERVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 8/4/2017 8:30 AM

MOVER: Thomas Smith, Commissioner SECONDER: Kurt R. Kojzarek, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, John Hoscheit, Michael Kenyon, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin,

Myrna Molina, Thomas Smith, Barbara Wojnicki

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Bill Lenert, Douglas Scheflow

V. Executive/Closed Session to Discuss Land Acquisition, Contracts, Litigation and Personnel 8:35 AM Entered into Executive/Closed Session to discuss Land Acquisition.

RESULT: APPROVED BY ROLL CALL VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: John Martin, Commissioner SECONDER: John Hoscheit, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, John Hoscheit, Michael Kenyon, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin,

Myrna Molina, Thomas Smith, Barbara Wojnicki

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Bill Lenert, Douglas Scheflow

VI. Communications

Thanks to all that visited the Forest Preserve District's booth at the Kane County Fair. It was well attended.

VII. Chairman's Comments

We will have an update on all the flooding in the County and Forest Preserves at the Planning and Utilization Committee immediately following this meeting at 9:30 AM.

VIII. Adjournment 9:08 AM

RESULT: ADJOURNED BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: Thomas Smith, Commissioner SECONDER: Kurt R. Kojzarek, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, John Hoscheit, Michael Kenyon, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin, Myrna

Molina, Thomas Smith, Barbara Wojnicki

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Bill Lenert, Douglas Scheflow

Margaret Auger, Chairman Land Acquisition Committee

Adjournment until: Thursday, August 24, 2017 at 8:30 am

Forest Preserve District Administration Offices 1996 S. Kirk Road, Suite 320 Geneva, Illinois

Respectfully Submitted,

Ellen J. Maglio

Ellen J. Maglio Recording Secretary