

FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT OF KANE COUNTY

LAND ACQUISITION COMMITTEE MINUTES

I. Call to Order

The Land Acquisition Committee meeting was held Thursday September 28, 2017 at 8:30 AM at the Administration Offices located at 1996 S. Kirk Road, Suite 320, Geneva, IL 60134. The meeting was opened by Chairman Margaret Auger at 8:30 AM.

Members Name:	Status:
President Michael Kenyon	Present
Chairman Margaret Auger	Present
President ProTem Mark Davoust	Present
Commissioner John Hoscheit	Absent
Commissioner Kurt Kojzarek	Absent
Commissioner Bill Lenert	Present
Commissioner John Martin	Absent
Commissioner Myrna Molina	Absent
Commissioner Douglas Scheflow	Absent
Commissioner Thomas Smith	Present
Commissioner Barbara Wojnicki	Present

Others Present:

Other Commissioners present: Allan, Dahl, Frasz.

Staff present: Monica Meyers, Executive Director, Ben Haberthur, Director of Natural Resources, Jerry Culp, Director of Planning and Development, Laurie Metanchuk, Director of Community Affairs, John Goreth, Director of Operations, Mike Gilloffo, Director of Public Safety, Dave Petschke, Accounting Manager, Caitlin Rodeghero, Administrative Assistant, Jerry Hodge, Attorney, Ellen J. Maglio, Recording Secretary

II. Approval of Minutes from August 24, 2017

RESULT: ACCEPTED [UNANIMOUS]

MOVER: Thomas Smith, Commissioner

SECONDER: Bill Lenert, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, Mark Davoust, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

ABSENT: John Hoscheit, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin, Myrna Molina, Douglas Scheflow

III. Public Comment (Each Speaker is limited to three minutes) None.

IV. New or Unfinished Business

A. Approval of a Resolution for Land Acquisition in Big Rock Township (80 ac)

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

TO: FOREST PRESERVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 10/6/2017 8:30 AM

MOVER: Bill Lenert, Commissioner

SECONDER: Barbara Wojnicki, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, Mark Davoust, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

ABSENT: John Hoscheit, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin, Myrna Molina, Douglas Scheflow

B. Approval of a Resolution for Land Acquisition in Plato Township Adjacent to the Muirhead Springs Forest Preserve (54 ac)

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

TO: FOREST PRESERVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 10/6/2017 8:30 AM

MOVER: Barbara Wojnicki, Commissioner SECONDER: Thomas Smith, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, Mark Davoust, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

ABSENT: John Hoscheit, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin, Myrna Molina, Douglas Scheflow

C. Approval of a Resolution for Land Acquisition in Elgin Township Adjacent to the Otter Creek Forest Preserve (98 ac)

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

TO: FOREST PRESERVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 10/6/2017 8:30 AM

MOVER: Bill Lenert, Commissioner

SECONDER: Mark Davoust, President ProTem

AYES: Margaret Auger, Mark Davoust, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

ABSENT: John Hoscheit, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin, Myrna Molina, Douglas Scheflow

D. Resolution Authorizing the Sale of Forest Preserve District Property in Dundee Township (.2 ac near Lake Marion Estates)

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY VOICE VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

TO: FOREST PRESERVE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 10/6/2017 8:30 AM

MOVER: Mark Davoust, President ProTem SECONDER: Thomas Smith, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, Mark Davoust, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

ABSENT: John Hoscheit, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin, Myrna Molina, Douglas Scheflow

V. Executive Session to Discuss Land Acquisition, Contracts, Litigation and Personnel

RESULT: MOVED BY ROLL CALL VOTE [UNANIMOUS]

TO: CLOSED / EXECUTIVE SESSION

MOVER: Mark Davoust, President ProTem

SECONDER: Barbara Wojnicki, Commissioner

AYES: Margaret Auger, Mark Davoust, Michael Kenyon, Bill Lenert, Thomas Smith,

Barbara Wojnicki

ABSENT: John Hoscheit, Kurt R. Kojzarek, John Martin, Myrna Molina, Douglas Scheflow

ALSO PRESENT: Allan, Dahl, Frasz

VI. Communications

National Public Lands Day will be held on September 30 from 10am to 1pm at the Dick Young Forest Preserve.

VII. Chairman's Comments

Commissioner Frasz will be added to the membership of this committee and Commissioner Scheflow will be removed. This will move through to be affirmed at the Full Commission meeting on Tuesday, October 10, 2017.

VIII. Adjournment

Margaret Auger, Chairman Land Acquisition Committee Forest Preserve District of Kane County

Adjournment until: Thursday, October 26, 2017 at 8:30 am

Forest Preserve District Administration Offices 1996 S. Kirk Road, Suite 320 Geneva, Illinois

Respectfully Submitted,

<u> Ellen J. Maglio</u>

Recording Secretary